Nasza strona internetowa wykorzystuje cookies (pol.: ciasteczka)

W celu sprawnego i szybkiego działania serwisu, zapewnienia wygody podczas jego przeglądania, dostosowywania funkcjonalności do indywidualnych potrzeb użytkowników, a także w celach statystycznych oraz reklamowych, używamy informacji zapisanych za pomocą cookies. Korzystanie z serwisu jest równoznaczne ze zgodą użytkownika na stosowanie plików cookies. Więcej informacji znajdziesz tutaj.
Zgłosuj na książki roku 2017

Gracefully Insane: Life and Death Inside America's Premier Mental Hospital

Wydawnictwo: publicaffairsbooks
8 (1 ocen i 1 opinia) Zobacz oceny
10
0
9
0
8
1
7
0
6
0
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Edytuj książkę
szczegółowe informacje
data wydania
ISBN
9781586481612
słowa kluczowe
szpital psychiatryczny
kategoria
literatura faktu
język
angielski
dodała
Kasia b

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles,...

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. Gracefully Insane, by Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protégé whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age.

This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's The Bell Jar and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.

 

źródło opisu: amazon.com

źródło okładki: amazon.com

pokaż więcej

Brak materiałów.
Już teraz nowa funkcja: pakiety. Dowiedz się więcej jak kupić kilka książek w najlepszej cenie >>>
Trwa wyszukiwanie najtańszych ofert.
Dodaj dyskusję
Dyskusje o książce
    Obecnie jeszcze nie ma dyskusji powiązanych z tą książką.
Sortuj opinie wg
Opinie czytelników (1)
 Pokaż tylko oceny z treścią
książek: 1517
Kasia b | 2016-07-01
Na półkach: Przeczytane

Co łączy Johna Nasha, Sylvię Plath i Ray'a Charlesa? Byli pacjentami kliniki McLean! Historia najsłynniejszego szpitala psychiatrycznego w USA, opisanego m.in. w "Przerwanej lekcji muzyki" i "Szklanym kloszu". Świetnie napisana, czyta się jak beletrystykę, a jednocześnie bez tzw "prania brudów"

Moja Biblioteczka
Jeżeli chcesz dodać książkę do biblioteczki, wybierz półkę, oceń lub napisz opinię.
Przeczytane
loading
Cytaty z książki
Na półkach
pokaż wszystkie
zgłoś błąd zgłoś błąd