Nasza strona internetowa wykorzystuje cookies (pol.: ciasteczka)

W celu sprawnego i szybkiego działania serwisu, zapewnienia wygody podczas jego przeglądania, dostosowywania funkcjonalności do indywidualnych potrzeb użytkowników, a także w celach statystycznych oraz reklamowych, używamy informacji zapisanych za pomocą cookies. Korzystanie z serwisu jest równoznaczne ze zgodą użytkownika na stosowanie plików cookies. Więcej informacji znajdziesz tutaj.

Murder in Byzantium. A Novel

Tłumaczenie: Christopher Jon Delogu
Wydawnictwo: Columbia University Press
0 (0 ocen i 0 opinii) Zobacz oceny
10
0
9
0
8
0
7
0
6
0
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
szczegółowe informacje
tytuł oryginału
Meutre à Byzance
data wydania
ISBN
978-0-231-13636-5
liczba stron
249
słowa kluczowe
Bizancjum, powieść, kryminał
język
angielski
dodała
one_evening

In this absorbing, suspenseful novel Julia Kristeva combines social satire, medieval history, philosophy, psychoanalytic theory, and autobiography within a gruesome murder mystery. Murder in Byzantium deftly moves from eleventh-century Europe, wracked by the turbulence of the First Crusade, to the sun-dappled, cultural wasteland of present-day Santa Varvara, threatened by religious cults,...

In this absorbing, suspenseful novel Julia Kristeva combines social satire, medieval history, philosophy, psychoanalytic theory, and autobiography within a gruesome murder mystery. Murder in Byzantium deftly moves from eleventh-century Europe, wracked by the turbulence of the First Crusade, to the sun-dappled, cultural wasteland of present-day Santa Varvara, threatened by religious cults, gangs, and a serial killer on the loose.

This killer is murdering members of a dubious religious sect, the New Pantheon, and leaving a mysterious figure eight drawn on their corpses. Meanwhile, Sebastian Chrest-Jones, a noted professor of human migrations, clandestinely writing a novel about the Byzantine princess-historian Anna Comnena, disappears on a quest to learn more about an ancestor who roamed across Europe to Byzantium during the First Crusade. Kristeva's recurring characters, detective Northrop Rilsky and the French journalist Stephanie Delacour, step in and desperately try to piece together the two-part mystery in the midst of their unexpected love affair.

In the tradition of Umberto Eco, Susan Sontag, and Ian McEwan, Kristeva skillfully weaves philosophical and critical ideas into her fiction. Peering into the mores, obsessions, and excesses of contemporary society, Kristeva offers an engrossing portrait of Santa Varvara, a paradoxical place of sunshine and pollution where skeletons lurk in the closets of politicians and oil company executives. Her descriptions of the First Crusade and the Byzantine Empire vividly evoke a distant past while speaking to such contemporary concerns as immigration, fundamentalism, terrorism, and the East-West divide. Murder in Byzantium is also the only work in which Kristeva explores her Bulgarian roots. In the midst of this rich, multilayered historical novel, Kristeva also presents three stunning, closely observed, and interlocking portraits of characters struggling with loss and emptiness in their personal histories and day-to-day lives.

 

źródło opisu: Opis autorski

źródło okładki: Wydawnictwo

pokaż więcej

Brak materiałów.
Trwa wyszukiwanie najtańszych ofert.
Dodaj dyskusję
Dyskusje o książce
    Obecnie jeszcze nie ma dyskusji powiązanych z tą książką.
Sortuj opinie wg
Opinie czytelników (1)
 Pokaż tylko oceny z treścią
książek: 478
one_evening | 2012-09-17
Na półkach: Chcę przeczytać
Moja Biblioteczka
Jeżeli chcesz dodać książkę do biblioteczki, wybierz półkę, oceń lub napisz opinię.
Przeczytane
loading
Cytaty z książki
więcej książek tego autora
zgłoś błąd zgłoś błąd