Big Machine

Wydawnictwo: Spiegel & Grau
0 (0 ocen i 0 opinii) Zobacz oceny
10
0
9
0
8
0
7
0
6
0
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Edytuj książkę
szczegółowe informacje
data wydania
ISBN
9780385527996
liczba stron
370
język
angielski

Ricky Rice is a middling hustler with a lingering junk habit, a bum knee, and a haunted mind. A survivor of a suicide cult, he scrapes by as a porter at a bus depot in Utica, New York, until one day a mysterious letter arrives, summoning him to enlist in a band of paranormal investigators comprised of former addicts and petty criminals, all of whom had at some point in their wasted lives heard...

Ricky Rice is a middling hustler with a lingering junk habit, a bum knee, and a haunted mind. A survivor of a suicide cult, he scrapes by as a porter at a bus depot in Utica, New York, until one day a mysterious letter arrives, summoning him to enlist in a band of paranormal investigators comprised of former addicts and petty criminals, all of whom had at some point in their wasted lives heard what may have been the voice of God.

Infused with the wonder of a disquieting dream and laced with Victor LaValle’s fiendish comic sensibility, Big Machine is a mind-rattling mystery about doubt, faith, and the monsters we carry within us.

Named one of the Best Books of the Year by the Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune and Publishers Weekly. WINNER OF THE SIRLEY JACKSON AWARD

"LaValle employs a sly wit and deadpan humor [in his portrayal of] a world framed by conspiracy, intrigue and double-dealing... [Big Machine] is drawing comparisons to the work of Ralph Ellison and Thomas Pynchon." --The Wall Street Journal

"The tension between sci-fi and noir material and realist approach makes Big Machine crackle... [This] big novel grinds up our delisions about reality, spirituality and the pronciples of fiction." --The Dallas Morning News

"A Da Vinci Code for fans of Haruki Murakami and Chapelle's Show." --PopMatters

 

źródło opisu: Spiegel & Grau, 2010

źródło okładki: isfdb.org

pokaż więcej

Brak materiałów.
Trwa wyszukiwanie najtańszych ofert.
Dodaj dyskusję
Dyskusje o książce
    Obecnie jeszcze nie ma dyskusji powiązanych z tą książką.
Sortuj opinie wg
Opinie czytelników (0)
 Pokaż tylko oceny z treścią
Brak opinii. Napisz pierwszą opinię!
Przeczytaj także

Moja Biblioteczka
Jeżeli chcesz dodać książkę do biblioteczki, wybierz półkę, oceń lub napisz opinię.
Przeczytane
loading
Zapisując się na newsletter zgadzasz się na otrzymywanie informacji z serwisu Lubimyczytac.pl w tym informacji handlowych, oraz informacji dopasowanych do twoich zainteresowań i preferencji. Twój adres email będziemy przetwarzać w celu kierowania do Ciebie treści marketingowych w formie newslettera. Więcej informacji w Polityce Prywatności.
Cytaty z książki
Inne książki autora
więcej książek tego autora
zgłoś błąd zgłoś błąd